Homemade Kimchee/Kimchi with Scrambled Eggs – Why Eat Fermented Foods?

Homemade Kimchi with eggs -  MinnesotaFromScratch.wordpress.com

Homemade Kimchee is one of the most satisfying things I have made. It is something that I have loved since I was a toddler thanks to the expanded tastes of my elders.  It is and always has been one of my favorite things to eat and last fall my friend and I finally made it.  Our first batch turned out so hot that no one could eat it.  Talk about a huge disappointment! We both love spicy food but it unfortunately turned out to be inedible to us and everyone we tried to pawn it off on.  But after a couple of alterations to the recipe, our second batch turned out great!

I have purchased many brands of Kimchee sold at local grocery stores and one brand in particular is out of this world delicious. Unfortunately, I recently learned that does not have the “good belly bacteria” in it that I thought it did and that’s why it’s even more of a reason to make it homemade. Fermented foods provide all sorts of benefits to our health: they are packed with good-belly-bacteria (lactobacilli) that promote healthy functioning of the intestinal tract , they have tons of minerals and essential vitamins ( including A and C – antioxidants) and are said to boost your immune system.

Kimchee is also very low-calorie and VERY flavorful so I can eat a ton and feel satisfied and not guilty! I love to mix it with brown rice for a quick snack,  have it over eggs, or eat it as is. My grandpa likes to put it on his sandwiches and I have heard of it put on pizza as well. It’s frickin amazing no matter how you eat it.

Take care, Stephanie

Have you ever made or eaten Kimchee? Did you like your experience?

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allison
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 04:14:59

    I am going to make a large vat of Kimchi, what is your recipe? I am going to go get the nappa right now, Thanks for inspiring me.

    Reply

  2. Trackback: How to Make Sauerkraut From Scratch: Step by Step Guide to Fermenting Cabbage | MinnesotaFromScratch

Leave a Reply

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-41549617-1', 'wordpress.com'); ga('send', 'pageview');
