Reuben Spread Recipe — Num!

Reuben Spread - MinnesotaFromScratch.wordpress.com

Have you ever wondered what to do with your leftover corned beef? Probably not, because I’ve never heard of corned beef leftovers before — it is too good not to devour. UNLESS you have a culinary failure as I did the week before St. Patty’s Day.  It was my first time making corned beef and I bought a nice three-pounder from Whole Foods that was already marinating in seasonings. I followed the directions for making the boiled dinner but my corned beef was way too firm. The taste was great, but the texture was too tough to deal with a second time. That’s when I decided I’d need to make something else with the leftover meat.

I found a slow cooker recipe for Reuben Spread in one of my cookbooks and decided to give it a try.  Since I was already using my slow cooker for another meal, I made this dip on the stove top.

Ingredients:

  • 2.5 cups of small cubed corned beef
  • 16oz of sauerkraut, rinsed and well-drained
  • 8oz shredded swiss cheese
  • 8 oz shredded cheddar cheese
  • 1 cup mayo
  • Snack rye bread or crackers.

Combine all ingredients together and cook on a low temp, stirring often. If you decide to cook this in a crock pot, cook on low for 3 hours, stirring occasionally. Serve with warmed rye bread. When I made this I used less mayo and less cheese, I also didn’t rinse my sauerkraut; just drained it and it turned out great.

Reuben Dip - MinnesotaFromScratch.wordpress.com

Source:  Taste of Home – Slow Cooker, Reader’s Digest

Take care, Stephanie

 

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Allison
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 03:49:52

    Perfect with a Guinness. Yummy !

    Reply

  2. alisonlumbatis
    Mar 27, 2013 @ 06:00:50

    Oh my, that looks incredible. Anything with sauerkraut is a winner in my book!

    Reply

  3. MinnesotaFromScratch
    Apr 01, 2013 @ 23:49:57

    I love sauerkraut too! I’m planning to make some homemade sauerkraut for the first time so I’ll be sure to document it on the blog.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-41549617-1', 'wordpress.com'); ga('send', 'pageview');
