Lilacs – From Bud to Bloom: Their 5 Week Transformation

 

 

 

 

 

I love lilacs. I love how they look and I love how they smell. My only complaint about them is that they do not last longer.  Well, that and I wish that they held up better once cut. If they did, I’d put them in vases all over my home. This year I eagerly anticipated their arrival and decided to snap a weekly photo of their development.  There was a 10 day lapse from picture 6 to 7 and about 6 days of rain as well, so you will see a huge jump in their development.

063

008

 

002

 

061

005

019

048

009

What is your favorite springtime flower?

Take care, Stephanie

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. EcoGrrl
    May 30, 2013 @ 09:49:23

    Awesome! And dang your spring came a bit later than ours! Seems like a distant memory here. My irises are about gone already and the echinacea is just around the corner :)

    Reply

    • MinnesotaFromScratch
      May 30, 2013 @ 10:54:26

      Yeah spring came super late this year. We still had snow on May 4th. In years prior, our lilacs were blooming by Mother’s Day. Now we’ve had rain for the last 3 weeks… feels like April. The irises are not even blooming in my yard yet. I still have tulips!

      Reply

  2. Heidi
    May 30, 2013 @ 12:23:23

    This is amazing! Thanks so much for sharing. I bet they smell amazing. I am a big tulip and daisy fan myself.

    Reply

    • MinnesotaFromScratch
      May 30, 2013 @ 14:03:29

      I love tulips too. I planted about 30 more bulbs last fall but within a day or two the squirrels dug up almost all of them. I had 5 new tulips this year. I guess I’ll have to be more proactive about guarding the bulbs this fall.

      Reply

  3. Pearl kissel
    May 30, 2013 @ 12:41:42

    They do not grow in So.Ca. And I miss them so much. Back in New England they were the heralds of spring.

    Reply

    • MinnesotaFromScratch
      May 30, 2013 @ 14:01:30

      Oh, bummer! No artificial smell is the same either. After I posted this blog earlier, I put a huge bouquet in my kitchen and I have been enjoying the smell since. I’ll take a big whiff just for you!

      Reply

  4. kalamitykelli
    May 30, 2013 @ 17:40:22

    I love lilacs but wisteria are my favorite!!

    Reply

  5. Dawn Lawrence-Calgaro
    May 31, 2013 @ 09:03:51

    I love lilacs!

    Reply

  6. Sara
    May 31, 2013 @ 14:28:25

    I love flowers! What pretty pictures!

    Reply

  7. alisonlumbatis
    Jun 01, 2013 @ 08:37:00

    Aww, so pretty! Lilacs have always been one of my favorites. I don’t see them in Texas but had plenty in our yard growing up in Pennsylvania. Peonies are one of my other favorites.

    Reply

  8. Sofia Byrd (@frompdxwithlove)
    Jun 06, 2013 @ 15:20:24

    We have lilacs right outside our window!! They are mostly dried out now, but oh do they smell heavenly!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i['GoogleAnalyticsObject']=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){ (i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o), m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m) })(window,document,'script','//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js','ga'); ga('create', 'UA-41549617-1', 'wordpress.com'); ga('send', 'pageview');
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 101 other followers

